Parent Update Oct. 30 - Nov 3
Posted On:
Thursday, November 02, 2017

Hello again everyone!

It was a super exciting week for us last week at HMS with so many cool things going on.  From our Anti-Bullying Concert on Wednesday, to the Band Performance on Tuesday evening, to the big rollout of the laptops in 7th and 8th grade, and the fun day of Halloween Excitement on Friday, we had an awesome week here at HMS and look to have many many more just like it!

Many parents have inquired as to why we have yet to ask for our class fees for the 2017-2018 school year.  I wanted to wait just a bit on that request until a time when payment could be possible online.  By visiting https://cheathamcountyschools. revtrak.net/ you can now pay the $55 Harpeth Middle School Class Fees for the 2017-2018 school year.  The information regarding the payment system is also attached to this message.  While these fees are certainly not mandatory in any way and are merely “requested fees,” these funds do provide essential operating funds for our classrooms across HMS and go directly to supporting our teachers with needed supplies and materials. 

We want to remind everyone that students DO NOT REPORT to HMS tomorrow as Parent/Teacher conferences will be conducted in our building from 11-7.  Please be on time for your scheduled meetings and please remember that we are unable to accept “walk up appointments” as most of the grade levels will be stacked full of appointments during all of their meeting times.  We look to seeing many of you in our building throughout the day tomorrow!  The Related Arts Teachers will be working the front office tomorrow if you should need any help or have any questions!

7th and 8th Grade Parents:  Please remember that we must have the $30 insurance deposit and the signed contract in order to distribute a laptop to your student.  The 30 dollars covers the cost of 1 replacement device for damage and 1 power charger, but does not cover lost devices or the carrying case.   Please also remind students that our “Web Filtering Software” for appropriate usage extends outside of our building and comes pre-installed on all of the devices.  While we are obviously extremely excited to be rolling out the 1/1 program this year in 7th and 8th grade, these are still CCSD Owned Devices until after year 3 of the student use and therefore need to be accessed and utilized accordingly at all times.

A reminder that our big Positive Behavior Event is coming up on November 17th at 1:00pm and our Parent Policy Night/Chorus Concert will be happening on the 28th starting at 6:15pm!  We will have a super cool video to premiere on that night and will be having a big discussion/info session regarding the operations of our school as well as an info session for future volunteer opportunities in our building!

We remind everyone of our special Veterans Day Celebration that will be occurring on November 10th at 8:30am in the HMS Gym.  All of the HMS Community is invited to join us for this special event and we ask that all members of our community that would like to honor a member of their family as part of the event, please follow the instructions below:

If you would like to submit a photo of a veteran for the Veterans Day Program, please email it to karen.carlton@ccstn.org. Please include the name of the veteran, relationship to student, place of service and years of service.

 

 

 

Events Coming Up at HMS

October 30th:  Parent Teacher Conferences from 11-7

November 10th:  Veterans Day Celebration at 8:30am

November 17th:  Positive Behavior Celebration Event at 1:00pm

November 28th:  Parent Policy Meeting Discussion at 6:15, Chrous Concert at 7:00

December 22nd:  Last Day of School Holiday Celebration Assembly

 

HMS Contact List

Cheatham Achievers:  Emily.Staggs@ccstn.org

5th Grade General Questions:  Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org

6th Grade General Questions:  Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

7th Grade General Questions:  Melanie.Buchanan@ccstn.org

8th Grade General Questions:  Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org

Cafeteria Questions:  Amber.Hrobak@ccstn.org

Athletics Questions:  Devin.Allen@ccstn.org

Counseling and Skyward Questions:  Maria.Bobo@ccstn.org or Brittain.West@ccstn.org

Nurse/Medical Questions:  Shelley.Duke@ccstn.org

Library Questions:  Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org

Attendance Questions:  Kathy.Miller@ccstn.org

School Finance Questions:  Cindy.Wells@ccstn.org

SRO Questions:  Allie.Chapman@ccstn.org

Website Questions:  Dave.Parks@ccstn.org

Math Tutoring:  Margie.Crummer@ccstn.org or April.Williams@ccstn.org

English Tutoring:  Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org           

Science Tutoring:  Allison.Mueller@ccstn.org     

Art After Hours:  Allison.Johnson@ccstn.org or Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org

Chorus Questions:  Lindsay.Greece@ccstn.org

Band Questions:  Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org

Cooking Club:  Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

 

Other News from Around HMS

From Ms. Green:  Roll the Ark has been extended through this Friday. PLEASE help us reach a goal of 3,000 rolls of toilet paper! 

 

From Ms. Carlton:  Seventh or eighth grade students still interested in getting a laptop, should  return their laptop form with $30 or a check made out to Harpeth Middle School to the library. Additional forms are available in the HMS office or library.

 

From 7th grade:  If you have not sent anything in for our LBL trip, we must have the first payment and paperwork in no later than Tuesday, October 31st, unless you have contacted us and made other arrangements. 

Second payment for LBL is due on November 3rd!  

 We are also in need of MALE CHAPERONES to help out in the boys' cabins.  If you are interested, please let us know!

 

From Ms. Parker and Ms. Willoughby:  Picture Day - Wednesday, November 1

 

From Ms. Edwards:  If anyone else would like a Parent Conference in my class, email me at:  melanie.edwards@ccstn.org

 

From Ms. Greece

Chorus concert dates are:

11/10- in school Veterans Day performance

11/28- required winter concert (6:15pm report with 7:00pm concert, dress is solid white top, solid black bottom)

11/30-Kingston light up (time TBA)

12/9-Pegram light up (time TBA)

12/22-in school winter performance 

 

Final Things

I just wanted to remind everyone that our Student Handbook is available for review at our school website (harpethmiddleccs.org) anytime.  I have also attached a copy to this email and am happy to provide a paper copy if you ever need one.  Please just shoot me an email back and I will get it sent home with your student.

Administrative Text Number for Safety, Bullying, and Questions: (615) 829-6072

Online Bully Report Forms: https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=qmF0dn9znEScCOpe_cPQu_hGD37XFLdBkepfx1wzBllURFM2NkVBMTRUUVlOSjVDOFNXN0ZHMjcxMC4u

Facebook:  facebook.com/hmsindians

Twitter:  @HMSIndians

Instagram:  harpethmiddleschool

 

Thanks so much everyone and have a fantastic week!

 

Ryan Philipp

 

View all Latest News
>>>>