Nov 6 Parent Update.
Posted On:
Monday, November 06, 2017
Veterans Day Celebration

Hello Again HMS Parents:

 

The big thing I want to focus on this week is an incredibly important event that we have coming up this Friday at HMS, our annual “Veterans Day Celebration.” Every year Ms. Carlton, Ms. White, Ms. Powell, Ms. Willoughby, and several others across our school work closely with dozens of our fantastic students to coordinate a Veterans Day celebration that truly pays a wonderful tribute to many military heroes in our country. If you know a veteran that doesn’t already have plans this coming Friday, or one that can fit it into their schedule, please invite them to join us for this special ceremony at 8:45am. We obviously would like to especially extend an invitation to family members and friends of our students, but would love to see as many other members of the community join us as possible. We also extend a special invitation to all of our chorus parents as the Veterans Day celebration will represent the debut performance for Ms. Greece’s Choir at our school. Also, If you would like to submit a photo for the Veterans Day Program, please email to karen.carlton@ccstn.org. The picture should include: name of the veteran, title, length of service, place of service, and relationship to the student. All photos must be submitted by Monday, November 6. Thank you!

 

We wanted to wish a huge good luck and congratulations to Mr. McCoy, Ms. Parker and their entire contingent of students that will be attending the Model UN Conference in Murfreesboro this Thursday. This is an incredible opportunity for our students and we can’t thank our teacher sponsors, and of course the students themselves, for all of their great work over the past months to prepare for this big event!

 

Please don’t forget to help continue to support us in our Big Fall Fundraiser!! The official Turn-In Date for all items is this Wednesday, November 8th. A reminder that the big magic number for student sales is “10 items” in order to gain all day admission to the Inflatable and Technology Day!

 

Don’t forget to please make plans to join us on November 28th for our special “Parent Policy Discussion” in the HMS Library!!

 

We would like to extend a very warm welcome to our new school nurse that just joined us last week at HMS, Mrs. Casey Ealy!! Casey has been an awesome addition to our staff from Day 1 and we are so happy to have her here at HMS!

 

If you haven’t checked out our Twitter page lately, please take some time to check out our postings from last Friday. We held a special Faculty Twitter Contest on Friday in which staff members were charged with the task of recognizing a student(s) that makes it a joy to come to work every day due to their positive attitudes and contributions to their classes. A quick look at Twitter from last Friday will truly show you some great stories from our staff members!

 

Many parents have inquired as to why we have yet to ask for our class fees for the 2017-2018 school year. I wanted to wait just a bit on that request until a time when payment could be possible online. By visiting https://cheathamcountyschools. revtrak.net/ you can now pay the $55 Harpeth Middle School Class Fees for the 2017-2018 school year. The information regarding the payment system is also attached to this message. While these fees are certainly not mandatory in any way and are

merely “requested fees,” these funds do provide essential operating funds for our classrooms across HMS and go directly to supporting our teachers with needed supplies and materials.

7th and 8th Grade Parents: Please remember that we must have the $30 insurance deposit and the signed contract in order to distribute a laptop to your student. The 30 dollars covers the cost of 1 replacement device for damage and 1 power charger, but does not cover lost devices or the carrying case. Please also remind students that our “Web Filtering Software” for appropriate usage extends outside of our building and comes pre-installed on all of the devices. While we are obviously extremely excited to be rolling out the 1/1 program this year in 7th and 8th grade, these are still CCSD Owned Devices until after year 3 of the student use and therefore need to be accessed and utilized accordingly at all times.

 

Events Coming Up at HMS

November 10th: Veterans Day Celebration at 8:30am

November 17th: Positive Behavior Celebration Event at 1:00pm

November 28th: Parent Policy Meeting Discussion at 6:15, Chorus Concert at 7:00

December 22nd: Last Day of School Holiday Celebration Assembly

 

HMS Contact List (updated as of 11-5) Cheatham Achievers: Marianne.Waddell@ccstn.org or Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org 5th Grade General Questions: Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org 6th Grade General Questions: Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org 7th Grade General Questions: Melanie.Buchanan@ccstn.org 8th Grade General Questions: Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org Yearbook Questions: Karley.Parker@ccstn.org or Lisa. Willoughby@ccstn.org Cafeteria Questions: Amber.Hrobak@ccstn.org Athletics Questions: Devin.Allen@ccstn.org Counseling and Skyward Questions: Maria.Bobo@ccstn.org or Brittain.West@ccstn.org

Nurse/Medical Questions: Casey,Ealy@ccstn.org Library Questions: Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org Attendance Questions: Kathy.Miller@ccstn.org School Finance Questions: Cindy.Wells@ccstn.org SRO Questions: Allie.Chapman@ccstn.org Website Questions: Dave.Parks@ccstn.org Math Tutoring: Margie.Crummer@ccstn.org or April.Williams@ccstn.org English Tutoring: Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org Science Tutoring: Allison.Mueller@ccstn.org Art After Hours: Allison.Johnson@ccstn.org or Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org Chorus Questions: Lindsay.Greece@ccstn.org Band Questions: Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org

Cooking Club: Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

 

Other News from Around HMS

From Ms. C Carlton: If you would like to submit a photo for the Veterans Day Program on Friday, November 10 at 8:45, please email to karen.carlton@ccstn.org. The picture should include: name of the veteran, title, length of service, place of service, and relationship to the student. All photos must be submitted by Monday, November 6. Thank you!

 

From Coach Galistel: A reminder that any boys interested in playing soccer for HMS should attend a meeting Tuesday night at 6:00pm in the HMS Commons Area.

 

From Ms. Greece: Chorus members must wear solid white on top, solid black on bottom, and comfortable shoes for Friday’s in-school Veterans Day performance. The Dave attire will be required for the evening performance on 11/28.

 

From Ms. Roberts: Cooking club will meet tomorrow from 3 to 5. Please meet in Mrs. Roberts' room.

 

From Dr. Edwards: Wrestling began their season with a team win against NCS last Thursday. Individual wins include: Dakota Delang, Cooper Edwards, Josh Helm, Tell Magness, AJ Rigby, Hunter Spence, Blake Sutton, and Carter Whitlow. They have away matches at Fairview on Tuesday and Sycamore on Thursday.

 

From Ms. Parker and Ms. Willoughby: In school yearbook sales will begin November 13! Yearbooks cost $35. Students may purchase yearbooks in school with Mrs. Parker for a two week period, and then all sales will go online.

To purchase online, visit yearbookforever.com.

The next in school sale will happen again in the spring semester!

 

We will be soon announcing a Picture Make-Up Day for all those that were not here on the 1st

 

From 6th Grade ELA Teachers: All 6th graders need to bring the book Wonder to school with them beginning Monday. Johnson and Green

 

From Ms. Crummer and Ms. Williams: Math Tutoring is with Ms. Crummer on Wednesday and with Ms. Williams on Thursday of this week in the 8th grade hallway.

 

Home basketball games this week:

Monday vs. Charlotte

Thursday vs. Fairview

 

From Ms. Hummell:

Schedule this week:

Monday- Red Team has a home game. Girls should wear red & blue uniform with blue chevron bow.

Tuesday- off

Wednesday- Practice, 3-5pm

Thursday- Blue Team has a home game. Girls should wear new blue & white uniforms with red glitter bows.

Friday- Practice, 3-5pm **We will be selling hoodies at both home games!

 

Final Things

I just wanted to remind everyone that our Student Handbook is available for review at our school website (harpethmiddleccs.org) anytime. I have also attached a copy to this email and am happy to provide a paper copy if you ever need one. Please just shoot me an email back and I will get it sent home with your student.

Administrative Text Number for Safety, Bullying, and Questions: (615) 829-6072

Online Bully Report Forms: https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=qmF0dn9znEScCOpe_cPQu_hGD37XFLdBkepfx1wzBllURFM2NkVBMTRUUVlOSjVDOFNXN0ZHMjcxMC4u

Facebook: facebook.com/hmsindians

Twitter: @HMSIndians

Instagram: harpethmiddleschool

 

Thanks so much everyone and have a fantastic week!

Ryan Philipp

View all Latest News
>>>>