Week of Jan. 22 Update
Posted On:
Monday, January 22, 2018

Hi there everyone!!

I hope you all enjoyed the unexpected long break and I hope you are ready to get back to school tomorrow.  As we quickly approach our 100th day of school for the year, we will be focusing heavily on normal schedules and a lack of distractions for some time going forward as we hit one of our most important academics periods for the school year!  The spring will still be packed with many exciting events and activities down the road, though, so stay tuned for an awesome rest of the semester!

As I got to see their amazing performance in person on Saturday, I wanted to give a huge short out to our Cheerleading Team and Coaches for an amazing first place performance at the MTAC Winter Classic in White Bluff!  Their flawless performance absolutely blew the crowd away and I can’t thank everyone involved with this amazing organization for all of their work this year!

Congrats also to Coach Wallace and the Boys Basketball team for their huge Quarterfinal win on Saturday in the State Sectional Tournament in Spring Hill.  The team will again travel to Spring Hill this Thursday at 5:15 for the Semi Finals and will return again (after winning, of course) for the Championship game this Saturday at 3:45.  We hope to see many of you make the trip south to Spring Hill to cheer on the Indians in the coming days!

Lunch Scan Cards - We have been using scan cards this year to expedite the lunch line in order for students to have more time to eat lunch.  Students were given scan cards in August, and many students have lost their cards, causing the school to re-print and re-distribute several times.  Starting this week, students will be held more accountable for keeping up with their scan cards.  Students will be getting a more permanent solution on January 9 (lanyard with large clear badge holder) provided by the school.  Students will be expected to present their cards each time they go through the lunch and breakfast lines.  For students who habitually forget or lose their card/lanyards, strikes will be entered into our school-wide behavior system.  As a reminder, strikes are essentially "warnings" until a multiple strikes are accumulated.

 

HMS Contact List (updated as of 1-21)

Cheatham Achievers:  Marianne.Waddell@ccstn.org or Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org

5th Grade General Questions:  Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org

6th Grade General Questions:  Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

7th Grade General Questions:  Melanie.Buchanan@ccstn.org

8th Grade General Questions:  Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org

Related Arts General Questions:  Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org

School Maintenance Concerns:  Adrian.Baker@ccstn.org

Yearbook Questions:  Karley.Parker@ccstn.org or Lisa. Willoughby@ccstn.org

Cafeteria Questions:  Amber.Hrobak@ccstn.org

Athletics Questions:  Devin.Allen@ccstn.org

Counseling and Skyward Questions:  Maria.Bobo@ccstn.org or Brittain.West@ccstn.org

Nurse/Medical Questions:  Casey.Ealy@ccstn.org

Library Questions:  Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org

Attendance Questions:  Kathy.Miller@ccstn.org

School Finance Questions:  Cindy.Wells@ccstn.org

SRO Questions:  Allie.Chapman@ccstn.org

Website Questions:  Dave.Parks@ccstn.org

Math Tutoring:  Margie.Crummer@ccstn.org or April.Williams@ccstn.org

English Tutoring:  Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org            

Science Tutoring:  Allison.Mueller@ccstn.org     

Art After Hours:  Allison.Johnson@ccstn.org or Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org

Chorus Questions:  Lindsay.Greece@ccstn.org

Band Questions:  Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org

Cooking Club:  Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

 

Tutoring for this Week

Regular Math Tutoring:  Monday-Wednesday with Ms. Crummer

Integrated 1 Math Tutoring:  Wednesday with Ms. Williams

ELA Tutoring:  Wednesday with Ms. Pyrdum

Science Tutoring:  Wednesday with Ms. Mueller

 

Parents:  All of these teachers are located in the 8th grade hallway and tutoring runs until 4:00 on the days listed, free of charge

 

Other News from Around HMS

From Coach Allen:  All students in 6th-8th grade interested in playing baseball for HMS for the 2018 Season need to attendance an interest meeting this Wednesday night at 6:00pm in the HMS Cafeteria.

 

From Coach Greer:  The softball team  is selling smoked butts for $40.00 and smoked ribs for $25.00 We will be cooking on February 3rd.  Please contact Rob.Greer1345@comcast.net with questions or info on how to order.  Softball conditioning also will run Monday-Thursday from 5-6:30 starting tomorrow.

 

From Coach Wallace:  Boys Basketball defeated E.A. Cox yesterday and advances to play Fairview at 5:15 this Thursday in semifinals of Sectional Tournament. The tournament is being held at Spring Hill Middle School. 

 

From Ms. Roberts:  Cooking club will meet on Thursday from 3 to 5.

 

From Ms. Parker:  Yearbooks are still for sale! May buy in school or at yearbookforever.com  Prices will go up to $40 soon!

 

From Coach Gallistel:  Boys Soccer workouts are Tuesday and Thursday of this week from 3:15-5:00

 

From Ms. Hummell:  We are so proud of our 1st place win at this weekend’s MTAC Winter Classic competition at William James Middle School. Six teams competed: William James, East Hickman, Hickman, Nashville Christian, Cheatham Middle and Harpeth. Along with the 1st place trophy, Harpeth also took home the Spirit Award. Way to go ladies!!

 

We are also excited to cheer on our boys’ basketball team this Thursday at Spring Hill! We will have a short practice from 3-4pm this Wednesday after school for those cheering in Thursday’s game.

 

Try outs for next year’s cheer team will be held February 5-9th. Only those who attended the meeting held a few weeks ago will be permitted to try out. Please remember all paperwork and sports physical must be turned in to Mrs. Hummell prior to the first day of try outs.

 

New Request for S2:  Requests for makeup work require 24 hours’ notice to be fulfilled.  At the time the request is made, materials will be made available in the office the following day after 2:00pm.  You may contact Ms. Meadows at the front desk or send an email directly to the grade level teachers.  Thank you so much for understanding!

 

Reminders

Direct Text Number:  615-829-6072  (available 7:45am-4:00pm)

Address to Sign-Up for Newsletter: harpethmiddleschool@gmail.com

Facebook:  facebook.com/HMSIndians

Twitter:  @HMSIndians

Instagram:  harpethmiddleschool

Counseling Website:  https://harpethcounseling.wixsite.com/hmscounseling

Online Bully Report Forms: https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=qmF0dn9znEScCOpe_cPQu_hGD37XFLdBkepfx1wzBllURFM2NkVBMTRUUVlOSjVDOFNXN0ZHMjcxMC4u

 

Thanks so much everyone and have a great week!

Ryan Philipp

 

View all Latest News
>>>>