Week of Jan 29
Posted On:
Monday, January 29, 2018

Hello again everyone!

After our first full week back, we are super excited to continue on with a great second semester here at HMS.  The next three weeks are once again almost distraction free in our building, with very few events or activities that take away from the ever important academic happenings going on across our great classrooms.  Obviously S2 in just about any school anywhere tends to be filled with an abundance of events, activities, and classroom interruptions and while that will certainly be the case at HMS towards the end of the year, we really strive to make the first significant chunk of this semester as academically focused as possible across all of our grade levels.  To that end, please continue to do all that you can to schedule appointments or other events for after school hours and for later in the afternoons.  We really want our students here absolutely as much as possible here in the second semester and ask that you please work with us to have your student at HMS as much as possible every day!  We obviously ask that our students not feeling well (especially during this time of year), do not try and come to school when sick or feeling not well, but when healthy, we really want to have attendance numbers here at HMS that are as high as possible every day!

To that end as well, we want to remind everyone regarding our new “Work Pickup Policy” at HMS that really goes a long way in allowing our teachers more time to prepare quality work packets for our students.  If work is requested in the front office, it will be available for pick up the following day by 2:00pm.  These requests may be made with grade level teachers or with Ms. Meadows (mary.meadows@ccstn.org) in the front office.  We thank you very much for your cooperation with this new policy.

I want to give a huge shout out to Coach Wallace and the HMS Boys Basketball team on an incredible season!  This was an amazing team to watch this year and even though they came up just short yesterday in the TMSAA State Sectional Championship game, their accomplishments and incredible teamwork this year speak for themselves: 

Boys Basketball accomplishments this season:

Regular Season Conference Champs

Conference Tournament Champs

Area Tournament Champs

Sectional Tournament 2nd place

Overall Record 17-6

Huge thanks to Coach Wallace and all of the players for their incredible work this season!

 

We are super excited to be bringing back the Talent Show at HMS this year!  Ms. Greece met with all potential participants last week and she needs all application forms turned into her by this Wednesday in order for your student to be eligible to participate.  The Community Performance for the Talent Show will take place Friday evening, February 16th at 7:00pm in the HHS Theater and the In-School Performance will be on February 20th at 1:15pm, again in the HHS Theater.  We want to invite the entire HMS community to come out and join us the evening of the 16th for what will be a great event for our school!!  Students that are passing all academic classes in S2 will be invited to attend the in-school performance on the 20th.

8th Grade Parents:  I know it is some time off, but as one of our most important events of the year, I ask that you please go ahead and set aside Wednesday May 23rd at 8:30am with friends and family for our big 8th Grade Graduation Event at HMS!!  This will be an exciting time as we celebrate all of our 8th grade students with a special ceremony in the HMS Gym and we really hope that you will be able to join us!

 

Tutoring Schedule for This Week

Math Tutoring with Ms. Williams:  Tuesday

Math Tutoring with Ms. Crummer:  Monday and Tuesday

Science Tutoring with Ms. Mueller:  Tuesday

ELA Tutoring with Ms. Pyrdum:  Wednesday

 

**Tutoring is open to students in grades 5-8 and takes place in the 8th grade hallway

**Tutoring ends at 4:00 each day and students need to be picked up at this time

 

HMS Contact List (updated as of 1-21)

Cheatham Achievers:  Marianne.Waddell@ccstn.org or Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org

5th Grade General Questions:  Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org

6th Grade General Questions:  Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

7th Grade General Questions:  Melanie.Buchanan@ccstn.org

8th Grade General Questions:  Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org

Related Arts General Questions:  Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org

School Maintenance Concerns:  Adrian.Baker@ccstn.org

Yearbook Questions:  Karley.Parker@ccstn.org or Lisa. Willoughby@ccstn.org

Cafeteria Questions:  Amber.Hrobak@ccstn.org

Athletics Questions:  Devin.Allen@ccstn.org

Counseling and Skyward Questions:  Maria.Bobo@ccstn.org or Brittain.West@ccstn.org

Nurse/Medical Questions:  Casey.Ealy@ccstn.org

Library Questions:  Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org

Attendance Questions:  Kathy.Miller@ccstn.org

School Finance Questions:  Cindy.Wells@ccstn.org

SRO Questions:  Allie.Chapman@ccstn.org

Website Questions:  Dave.Parks@ccstn.org

Math Tutoring:  Margie.Crummer@ccstn.org or April.Williams@ccstn.org

English Tutoring:  Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org            

Science Tutoring:  Allison.Mueller@ccstn.org     

Art After Hours:  Allison.Johnson@ccstn.org or Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org

Chorus Questions:  Lindsay.Greece@ccstn.org

Band Questions:  Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org

Cooking Club:  Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

 

News From Around HMS

From the Cheerleading Team: Valentine Flowers- Students can order carnations to be delivered to their friends on Valentine's Day all this week.  The prices will be 1 for $3, 2 for $5 or 3 for $7.  There will be 3 colors to choose from white, pink, and red. 

 

From Mr. Cooper:  The HMS Band will be hosting the Valentines Dance on Friday, February 9th from 3:30 until 5:30.

 

Tickets will go on sale Monday, February 5th in the morning and during lunch.

Tickets for the Dance are $5 and will be available through lunch on Friday, February 9th.

Snacks will be available for purchase at the dance.

 

From Ms. Parker:  This will be the last week to buy a yearbook! The price is $40. 

 

8th grade baby pictures are due by Friday, February 2! 

 

From Ms. Greece:  Talent show forms are due by Wednesday, January 31st. 

 

Auditions will be during the school day on Thursday, February 8th. Singers will NOT be allowed to audition a cappella. They must have an accompaniment track or instrumental accompanist. 

 

Dress rehearsal will be during the school day on Wednesday, February 14th. 

 

Talent show will be Friday, February 16th at 7:00. Admission is $5.00. 

 

In school performance will be Tuesday, February 20th around 1:00. 

Dates may change due to weather if absolutely necessary. 

 

From Ms. Roberts:  Cooking club will be on Thursday this week. 3:00 to 5:00. 

 

From Coach Greer:  The softball team  is selling smoked butts for $40.00 and smoked ribs for $25.00 We will be cooking on February 3rd.  Please contact Rob.Greer1345@comcast.net with questions or info on how to order.  Softball conditioning also will run Monday-Thursday from 5-6:30 starting tomorrow.

 

The First Spring Semester Calendar

February 2nd:  2nd Annual Souperbowl Event during Lunch Time

February 16th:  Talent Show @7:00pm

February 19th:  Presidents Day-No School

February 20th:  Talent Show at 1:00pm for all students passing ALL classes in S2

March 23rd:  2nd and Final Positive Behavior Event for 2017-2018

March 26th-31st:  Spring Break

May 14th:  HHS Senior Walk through HMS

May 23th:  8th Grade Graduation @8:30am

 

Reminders

Direct Text Number:  615-829-6072  (available 7:45am-4:00pm)

Address to Sign-Up for Newsletter: harpethmiddleschool@gmail.com

Facebook:  facebook.com/HMSIndians

Twitter:  @HMSIndians

Instagram:  harpethmiddleschool

Counseling Website:  https://harpethcounseling.wixsite.com/hmscounseling

Online Bully Report Forms: https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=qmF0dn9znEScCOpe_cPQu_hGD37XFLdBkepfx1wzBllURFM2NkVBMTRUUVlOSjVDOFNXN0ZHMjcxMC4u

 

Thanks everyone and have an awesome week!

 

Ryan Philipp

View all Latest News
>>>>