skip to main content

Week of Feb 5
Posted On:
Monday, February 05, 2018

 
Hello again everyone: 

I hope everyone is having a fantastic Superbowl Sunday!  I know lots of you have many things going on today and probably little time to read a school newsletter, so I will make this short and sweet. 

Very Important Announcement for 8th Grade Parents: 

March 6th at 6:30pm is Freshman Orientation at Harpeth High School theater.  In addition to the Orientation, parents will be invited to the middle school for individual student meetings.  Parents, please be looking for a scheduling invitation that will be coming home with your student. The meetings will take place during the school day and parents will have an opportunity to help schedule their student's freshman classes. These meetings will be held between March 12th-15th. 

Tutoring Schedule for this Week 

Math Tutoring with Ms. Crummer:  Monday-Wednesday 

Math Tutoring with Ms. Williams:  Wednesday 

ELA Tutoring with Ms. Pyrdum:  Wedmesday 

Science Tutoring with Ms. Mueller:  Wednesday 

**Tutoring is open to students in grades 5-8 and takes place in the 8th grade hallway 

**Tutoring ends at 4:00 each day and students need to be picked up at this time 

HMS Contact List (updated as of 2-4) 

Cheatham Achievers:  Marianne.Waddell@ccstn.org or Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org 

5th Grade General Questions:  Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org 

6th Grade General Questions:  Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org 

7th Grade General Questions:  Melanie.Buchanan@ccstn.org 

8th Grade General Questions:  Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org 

Related Arts General Questions:  Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org 

School Maintenance Concerns:  Adrian.Baker@ccstn.org 

Yearbook Questions:  Karley.Parker@ccstn.org or Lisa. Willoughby@ccstn.org 

Cafeteria Questions:  Amber.Hrobak@ccstn.org 

Athletics Questions:  Devin.Allen@ccstn.org 

Counseling and Skyward Questions:  Maria.Bobo@ccstn.org or Brittain.West@ccstn.org 

Nurse/Medical Questions:  Casey.Ealy@ccstn.org 

Library Questions:  Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org 

Questions regarding 1/1 Computers in 7th/8th:  Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org 

Attendance Questions:  Kathy.Miller@ccstn.org 

School Finance Questions:  Cindy.Wells@ccstn.org 

SRO Questions:  Allie.Chapman@ccstn.org 

Website Questions:  Dave.Parks@ccstn.org 

English Tutoring:  Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org 

Science Tutoring:  Allison.Mueller@ccstn.org       

Chorus Questions:  Lindsay.Greece@ccstn.org 

Band Questions:  Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org 

Cooking Club:  Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org 

 

News From Around HMS 

Cheatham Achievers students please remember to be bringing in your jars for the science activity we will be doing on February 26th. Jars do not need to be large. Small jelly jars or Mason jars around 12 oz. will be fine. They do need to have a lid. Thanks! 

Parent Newsletter 

From Ms. Hummell:  Cheer Tryouts for the 2018-19 cheer team are this week, Monday-Friday from 3-5. All paperwork and sports physicals must be turned in to Mrs. Hummell prior to 3pm on Monday. 

 

From Ms. Roberts:  Cooking club will meet on Thursday from 3 to 5 

 

From Ms. Greece:  Auditions for the talent show will be Thursday 2/8/18. Students must have their permission slip turned in plus all items needed for their performance to audition. I will supply a microphone, sound system  and piano. Students singing MUST have s karaoke/backing track or be singing while playing an instrument. I recommend www.karaoke-version.com and iTunes (title + the word “karaoke” to search)  to find low cost tracks. Students CANNOT audition American idol style to ensure that they can match pitch and tempo. Streaming on YouTube is not recommended in the event the internet is down/slow.  

 

From Mr. Cooper:  Congratulations to all of the Harpeth Band Members who auditioned for the Gateway Honor Band on Saturday. 

Special Shout Out to Rebekah Franck who made the Honor Band on French Horn. Rebekah will participate in the Honor Band in March. 

-------------------------------------------------- 

The HMS Band will be hosting the Valentines Dance this Friday, February 9 from 3:30 until 5:30 at HMS. 

Tickets are $5 and go on Sale Monday. 

 

The Spring Semester Calendar 

February 9th:  HMS Valentine’s Dance (sponsored by HMS Band) 

February 16th:  Talent Show @7:00pm 

February 19th:  Presidents Day-No School 

February 20th:  Talent Show at 1:00pm for all students passing ALL classes in S2 

March 6th:  6:30pm, Freshmen Orientation at HHS Theater 

March 12th-March 15th:  8th Grade Scheduling for HHS 

March 23rd:  2nd and Final Positive Behavior Event for 2017-2018 

March 26th-31st:  Spring Break 

May 14th:  HHS Senior Walk through HMS 

May 23th:  8th Grade Graduation @8:30am 

 

Reminders 

Direct Text Number:  615-829-6072  (available 7:45am-4:00pm) 

Address to Sign-Up for Newsletter: harpethmiddleschool@gmail.com 

Facebook:  facebook.com/HMSIndians 

Twitter:  @HMSIndians 

Instagram:  harpethmiddleschool 

 

Thanks everyone and have a great week! 

Ryan Philipp 

View all Latest News
>>>>>>>>