skip to main content

Week of March 19
Posted On:
Monday, March 19, 2018

Hello again everyone!

 

It is amazing to believe that we sit here with only 43 days left of school for the 2017-2018 school year!! It’s been an awesome year for us here at HMS and we thank you all for the support shown to us from across the community!

 

Just a reminder that our Positive Behavior Event is coming up this Friday afternoon from 1:15-2:45 and will include five different options for students that have earned the right to attend. Students that have avoided referrals between February 20th and March 23rd are eligible to attend so long as they have not had other consistent patterns of discipline issues with their individual teachers. If this is the case, you will be receiving notification from the grade level teachers this week.

 

Last Friday was the last day for Deputy Allie Chapman to serve as our SRO at HMS. Deputy Chapman has been a fantastic part of the HMS Family this school year and we are going to miss her a great deal as a part of our staff. Deputy Todd Bell will be starting with us tomorrow morning and will continue to work with Deputy Bible at HHS to provide SRO Coverage for the students of the southern cluster!

 

Just a reminder that this is the last week we will be allowing entry into the backdoor area near 6th grade in the mornings. Starting on April 2nd, all student traffic will be required to enter HMS through the front door area. Our morning traffic supervisors will be readjusting their traffic plans slightly at the front of the building to help accommodate this change, but you should hopefully see very little difference when dropping your students off in the mornings.

 

With the input taken from our recent parent safety meeting, in addition to numerous other updates and adjustments to our school-wide safety plan, we will be conducting a series of safety drills this week at HMS. These are likely to occur all during one short time period this week and we will send out immediate notification regarding the process when it happens. I want to thank again the approx. 15 parents that joined us for that two-hour meeting and to all that have given ongoing input through our school safety survey.

 

This is the time of year where we are really in need of the funding from our optional class fees to provide needed supplies to our teachers. If you haven’t already, please consider visiting https://cheathamcountyschools.revtrak.net/ where you can pay these fees online and support us here at HMS. Thank you so much!

Don’t forget about Tip@ccstn.org should you have safety concerns at any time!

 

Tutoring Schedule for this Week

**Tutoring is open to students in grades 5-8 and takes place in the 8th grade hallway

**Tutoring ends at 4:00 each day and students need to be picked up at this time

 

ELA Tutoring with Ms. Pyrdrum: Tuesday

Science Tutoring with Ms. Mueller: Tuesday

Math Tutoring with Ms. Crummer: Wednesday

 

HMS Contact List (updated as of 3-18) Cheatham Achievers: Marianne.Waddell@ccstn.org or Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org 5th Grade General Questions: Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org 6th Grade General Questions: Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org 7th Grade General Questions: Melanie.Buchanan@ccstn.org 8th Grade General Questions: Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org

Related Arts General Questions: Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org

School Maintenance Concerns: Adrian.Baker@ccstn.org Yearbook Questions: Karley.Parker@ccstn.org or Lisa. Willoughby@ccstn.org Cafeteria Questions: Amber.Hrobak@ccstn.org Athletics Questions: Devin.Allen@ccstn.org Counseling and Skyward Questions: Maria.Bobo@ccstn.org or Brittain.West@ccstn.org

In Need of Skyward Login Information: Brittain.West@ccstn.org

Nurse/Medical Questions: Casey.Ealy@ccstn.org Library Questions: Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org

Questions regarding 1/1 Computers in 7th/8th: Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org Attendance Questions: Kathy.Miller@ccstn.org School Finance Questions: Cindy.Wells@ccstn.org SRO Questions: Todd.Bell@ccstn.org Website Questions: Dave.Parks@ccstn.org Math Tutoring: Margie.Crummer@ccstn.org or April.Williams@ccstn.org English Tutoring: Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org Science Tutoring: Allison.Mueller@ccstn.org Art After Hours: Allison.Johnson@ccstn.org or Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org Chorus Questions: Lindsay.Greece@ccstn.org Band Questions: Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org Cooking Club: Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

Archery Club Questions: Gary.Morrison@ccstn.org

 

Other News from Around HMS

From Ms. Austin: All art students need to bring a composition book to art.

From Ms. Buchanan: All 7th graders need to be prepared to leave calculators and laptops (with chargers) at school each afternoon after Spring Break. We are asking each student to do this so that we can make sure all calculators and laptops are in working order for the TN Ready test.

From Ms. Greece: Chorus concert is Monday 4/23 at 6:30 in the gym. Chorus members are asked to wear a plain white tee shirt, plaid/flannel shirt (to probably be tied around waist), jeans, and preferably converse or doc martens looking shoes if possible (90s grunge look). We will also be accepting items for the animal shelter that night.

From Ms. Roberts: Cooking club will meet tomorrow from 3 to 4:45. Please make sure your child is picked up at 4:45.

From Ms. Edwards: Sponsor an Athlete: Please sponsor one of our students in the Cheatham County Special Olympics which will take place here at Harpeth Middle School on Friday, May 4th. You would pledge to give $5.00 to Cheatham County Special Olympics if the student you sponsors wins gold, $3.00 for each silver, and $1.00 for each bronze. The most you would pay would be $10.00 and the least would be $2.00. If the student you sponsor wins a medal, the money will be due after the games on May 4th, with deadline of May 16th. See Life Skills staff/students for Sponsor forms.

Important Reminders

Direct Text Number for Bullying/Safety Concerns or General Questions: 615-829-6072 (available 7:15am-4:00pm)

Address to Sign-Up for Newsletter: harpethmiddleschool@gmail.com

Facebook: facebook.com/HMSIndians

Twitter: @HMSIndians

Instagram: harpethmiddleschool Counseling Website: https://harpethcounseling.wixsite.com/hmscounseling

CCSD Safety Tip Line: Tip@ccstn.org

 

Online Bully Report Forms: https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=qmF0dn9znEScCOpe_cPQu_hGD37XFLdBkepfx1wzBllURFM2NkVBMTRUUVlOSjVDOFNXN0ZHMjcxMC4u

 

Thanks and have a great week!

 

Ryan Philipp

View all Latest News
>>>>>>>>