skip to main content

Week of April 2
Posted On:
Monday, April 02, 2018

Welcome Back Everyone!!

This is an exciting time of the year with something going on just about every day at HMS! Please keep following out updates and social media closely as we keep you apprised of the happenings at HMS during the best time of the school year!

We wanted to thank Ms. D and Dr. Rector for putting together a special Encore Performance of “High School Musical” during the school day this Wednesday for some of our students. 151 of our kids have not received a single strike throughout this school year and we have chosen this group to be able to visit HHS on Wednesday for the performance. I will be meeting with this group in the morning to distribute permission forms and these forms will be due back Tuesday in order to be able to attend!

We will begin our final major fundraiser of the year this Friday at HMS and will be selling local discount cards similar to those we sold last year. This cards will include discounts to Skyking, El Jardin, Cancun, Voodoo Gumbo, Vintage Loved, Harpeth Quick Lube, KS Subway, and many other places in and around Kingston Springs and West Nashville. We will be holding brief fundraiser meetings with students on Friday and info will be sent home at that time. Thank you, as always, so much for all of the support!

Testing begins on April 16th at HMS and runs through the 1st. 6th and 8th grade will test together on specific days and 5th and 7th together on the others. Below is an outline of our testing schedule for this year. Just as a reminder, we are asking that all 7th and 8th grade students store their laptops with us at school throughout the duration of the testing window.

April 16th: 6th/8th ELA 1

April 17th: 5th/7th ELA 1

April 18th: 5th/7th ELA 2

April 19th: 5th/7th Math 1

April 20th: 5th/7th Math 2

April 23rd: 5th/7th SS

April 24th: 5th/7th Science

April 25th: 6th/8th ELA 2

April 26th: 6th/8th Math 1

April 27th: 6th/8th Math 2

April 30th: 6th/8th SS

May 1st: 6th/8th Science

May 3rd and 4th: Makeup Days

 

8th Grade Parents: Be on the lookout this afternoon for specific information regarding submissions for the 8th grade Graduation Slideshow!

 

Tutoring This Week

No Science Tutoring

Integrated Math Tutoring with Ms. Williams-Tuesday

ELA Tutoring with Ms. Pyrdum-Tuesday

Math Tutoring with Ms. Crummer-Tuesday and Wednesday

 

Other News From Around HMS

From Mr. Cooper

HMS Band concert

Thursday, April 12

7 pm HMS GYM

 

Second Episode of Celebrate Cheatham

Now Available on Anchor Audio, Sound Cloud, and ITunes

 

From Ms. Roberts: Cooking club will meet on Thursday, April 5 from 3 to 5.

 

From Ms. Parker: Yearbooks are still for sale! $40 online or in school! Yearbooksforever.com

 

From Ms. Greece: The spring chorus concert will be Monday, April 23rd at 6:30 pm in the HMS gym. Students are asked to wear a plain white tee shirt, plaid or flannel button up shirt (to be tied around the waist), jeans, and if possible combat boots, converse or vans type sneakers. Basically, we are trying to pull off a 90s grunge look. Please don’t feel obligated to go out and purchase clothing items, but just what is in their closet that goes with this look as closely as possible. The white tee shirt will be most important to keep some uniformity.

 

We will also be accepting donation items for the animal shelter that night, as I do not charge any type of admission fee for concerts. They typically need paper towels, high efficiency laundry detergent, larger sized collars, harnesses, and leashes (non retractable), cat litter, bedding, toys, treats, and food. Their website always has their highest needs on it. Thank you for coming considering donating.

 

From Ms. Hummell: In order to build school spirit and get our students to do their best on the upcoming TN Ready testing, we will be holding an Academic Pep Rally on Friday, April 13th.There is more info about the pep rally coming. We are also going to start selling TN Ready Testing T-Shirts to our students. Each grade level will have a different colored shirt with the same printing on each shirt: An Indian head on the front and the quote: "HMS- We rock this test!" on the back.

 

5th- Red shirts

6th- Blue shirts

7th- Grey shirts

8th- Black shirts

https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=qmF0dn9znEScCOpe_cPQu2BPBKZAFtBKiT-KAhLW56BUOFZMTjZORDFCMEJPSjJVUE00N0lVVlk4Qy4u

Spring Semester Calendar

April 4th: No Strike Student Trip to HHS for “High School Musical” (12-2)

April 11th: Early Dismissal Day @11:45

April 12th: Spring Band Concert

April 13th: HMS Academic Celebration Pep Rally

April 23rd: My So Called Chorus Concert @6:30pm

May 4th: County-Wide Special Olympics @HMS

May 10th: Fundraiser Reward Day for 5 Plus Sellers

May 14th: HHS Senior Walk through HMS

May 15th: HMS Olympic Day

May 16th and 17th: Be in Charge Program @HMS

May 18th: Grade Level Awards Day (Times TBD)

May 23th: 8th Grade Graduation @8:30am

 

HMS Contact List (updated as of 3-18) Cheatham Achievers: Marianne.Waddell@ccstn.org or Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org 5th Grade General Questions: Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org 6th Grade General Questions: Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org 7th Grade General Questions: Melanie.Buchanan@ccstn.org 8th Grade General Questions: Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org

Related Arts General Questions: Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org

School Maintenance Concerns: Adrian.Baker@ccstn.org Yearbook Questions: Karley.Parker@ccstn.org or Lisa. Willoughby@ccstn.org Cafeteria Questions: Amber.Hrobak@ccstn.org Athletics Questions: Devin.Allen@ccstn.org Counseling and Skyward Questions: Maria.Bobo@ccstn.org or Brittain.West@ccstn.org

In Need of Skyward Login Information: Brittain.West@ccstn.org

Nurse/Medical Questions: Casey.Ealy@ccstn.org Library Questions: Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org

Questions regarding 1/1 Computers in 7th/8th: Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org Attendance Questions: Kathy.Miller@ccstn.org School Finance Questions: Cindy.Wells@ccstn.org SRO Questions: Todd.Bell@ccstn.org Website Questions: Dave.Parks@ccstn.org Math Tutoring: Margie.Crummer@ccstn.org or April.Williams@ccstn.org English Tutoring: Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org Science Tutoring: Allison.Mueller@ccstn.org Art After Hours: Allison.Johnson@ccstn.org or Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org Chorus Questions: Lindsay.Greece@ccstn.org Band Questions: Chris.Cooper@ccstn.org Cooking Club: Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

Archery Club Questions: Gary.Morrison@ccstn.org

 

Important Reminders

Direct Text Number for Bullying/Safety Concerns or General Questions: 615-829-6072 (available 7:15am-4:00pm)

Address to Sign-Up for Newsletter: harpethmiddleschool@gmail.com

Facebook: facebook.com/HMSIndians

Twitter: @HMSIndians

Instagram: harpethmiddleschool Counseling Website: https://harpethcounseling.wixsite.com/hmscounseling

CCSD Safety Tip Line: Tip@ccstn.org

 

Online Bully Report Forms: https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=qmF0dn9znEScCOpe_cPQu_hGD37XFLdBkepfx1wzBllURFM2NkVBMTRUUVlOSjVDOFNXN0ZHMjcxMC4u

 

Thank you everyone and have a great week!

 

Ryan Philipp

View all Latest News
>>>>>>>>