Update #4 Aug 27

Hello again everyone!

 

Club signups begin tomorrow morning at HMS! Please check out the link below to see the clubs we are offering this year, in addition to some short descriptions regarding the clubs and what they will be doing! Signups will take place in homeroom classes the next three days through Microsoft Forms.

 

https://www.dropbox.com/s/air096j6d0r7c8r/HMS%20Clubs%2018-19.pptx?dl=0

 

5th Grade: Choose 8 clubs of interest

6th Grade: Choose 7 clubs of interest

7th Grade: Choose 6 Clubs of interest

8th Grade: Choose 5 Clubs of Interest

 

Students will have the opportunity to rank their choices and we will do all we can to place them in one of their top selections. There will be the opportunity later in the year to make a switch to another club. We begin clubs this Friday afternoon from 2:05-2:45 and all students must have avoided discipline referrals during the period leading up to the clubs (typically two weeks, but a little longer this first time) and must also be demonstrating positive and consistent effort in their classes in order to attend!

 

On the same days as our club meetings, we will also be administering short (approx.. 15 minute) assessments in each of our core classes. These short “Game Day” assessments will count as a grade for all students and will also be valuable in allowing us to work together as a school to provide direct interventions for our kids that are struggling in certain parts of the curriculum. We aim to create a fun and festive atmosphere surrounding these Fridays as we really want students to be motivated to try their hardest for each of these assessments when they are given. These Gameday Assessments will occur on the same days as our clubs starting this Friday.

 

From Dr. Edwards and Ms. Hummell: This week is homecoming week! We will have spirit dress up days M-Thur. Our football game against Sycamore Middle is Thursday with JV starting at 5 and varsity starting at 6:30. The homecoming queen and king will be announced at half time. There we will be a homecoming dance Thursday right after school from 3:15 to 4:45. Tickets are $5 sold at the door and light concessions will be available.

 

Spirit dress up days

Monday-Miss -match day (tacky)

Tuesday- PJ day

Wednesday- Decades day- students dress like their favorite decade.

Thursday- Spirit day- dress in Harpeth gear and school colors. (Pep-rally 8am, Dance 3:15-4:45...Game JV 5, varsity 6:30...homecoming court at halftime time of varsity.)

 

Congratulations to the 2018 Homecoming Court:

Grade level representatives:

5th grade- Autumn P. and Oakly S.

6th grade- Hadley Penrod and Sam Lawless

7th grade- Sophie Hooper and Hayden Penrod

 

Queen and King Nominees:

8th grade-

Sarah Bradley, Cheyenne Harris, Cameron Hines, Nolan Pillow and Shelby Warren

Liam Baker, John Dalton, Logan Johnston, Jaden Petty, and Isaiah Smith.

 

Come out and support your Indians!

 

Other Quick Announcements from Around HMS

Many parents have requested our sports schedules be sent out with the newsletters. Our Girls Soccer, Volleyball, and Football are attached to this email

 

From Nurse Casey Ealy: All 7th graders need to bring their updated Proof of Immunization immediately. I also need all new students who are lacking updated physicals or immunizations to submit the updated records. You can have their doctor fax the new shot record on the Tennessee Department of Health form to HMS at 615-952-4527. Thanks

 

From Ms. Greece: Chorus forms are due. If you were in chorus last year, you still need to turn in a form this year.

 

HMS Contacts: This list below will grow as we get into the school year. While myself and Mr. Baker are more than happy to do what we can to answer all of your questions, oftentimes we end up forwarding and concerns straight to the individuals below. We encourage you to reach out to them directly and to, of course, contact the two of us at any time if we can do anything for you!

 

HMS Contact List **as of 8-26

Cheatham Achievers: Garrison@ccstn.org 5th Grade General Questions: Burgess@ccstn.org 6th Grade General Questions: Roberts@ccstn.org 7th Grade General Questions: Buchanan@ccstn.org 8th Grade General Questions: mueller@ccstn.org

Related Arts General Questions: Greece@ccstn.org

School Maintenance Concerns: Baker@ccstn.org Yearbook Questions: Parker@ccstn.org or Lisa. Willoughby@ccstn.org Cafeteria Questions: Hrobak@ccstn.org Athletics Questions: Allen@ccstn.org Counseling and Skyward Questions: Bobo@ccstn.org or West@ccstn.org

Nurse/Medical Questions: Ealy@ccstn.org Library Questions: Carlton@ccstn.org

Questions regarding 1/1 Computers in 7th/8th: Carlton@ccstn.org Attendance Questions: Miller@ccstn.org School Finance Questions: Wells@ccstn.org SRO Questions: Bell@ccstn.org Website Questions: Parks@ccstn.org Chrous Questions: Greece@ccstn.org Youth In Government/Model UN: McCoy@ccstn.org or Parker@ccstn.org

 

Bully Reporting Link for 2018-2019: https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=qmF0dn9znEScCOpe_cPQu_hGD37XFLdBkepfx1wzBllURFM2NkVBMTRUUVlOSjVDOFNXN0ZHMjcxMC4u

 

Social Media and Contacts: Don’t forget to follow us on facebook at facebook.com/HMSIndians and on Twitter @HMSIndians! The CCSD Safety Tip Line can be reached at tip@ccstn.org

The HMS Bullying/Safety Info Line can be reached at 615-829-6072 between 7:15 and 4 on school days.

A link to the 2018-2019 student handbook is attached to this email. Please review this handbook thoroughly with your students and let us know if you have any questions! If you would like to request a paper copy of the handbook, please just respond back to this email and I will get one sent home for you!

 

Thanks everyone! I hope you have an awesome week!

Ryan Philipp