Parent Update For Week Of Jan 21

 

Hello again everyone!

I hope you all had a great long weekend.  As we mentioned last week, we ALL IN with our academic focus during the upcoming weeks and months at HMS, meaning you’re not going to see quite as much from these newsletters in terms of event and activity advertisements.  Being a huge proponent of the idea that middle school should be a time for fun activities, memorable events, and school learning experiences outside of the traditional classroom, you will, of course, see plenty more of those types of activities later in the semester.  For the time being, though, and up through spring break, everything we are doing at HMS is focused on academics, classroom success, and uninterrupted class time for our students and teachers.  We continue to ask that you do all you can to have your students present these coming months as every single day represents an important learning opportunity in all of our classrooms.  With potential winter weather on the horizon as well, and the possibility for lost instructional time, it’s especially vital that we all work together to give our teachers the time in the coming weeks to do what they do best in the classroom.

 

We’ve had great class meetings over the past week with our 5th, 7th, and 8th grade students and will be meeting this week with 6th grade.  We feel it is incredibly important to get together with all of our students face to face at least twice per year to discuss school safety, academic goals, school rules and expectations, and our bullying discipline plans, among other topics.  Students have been extremely receptive and cooperative during these meetings and I feel they have provided a great opportunity for Mr. Baker and I to speak directly to the students regarding some of the most vital topics related to the operation of our school.  

 

Good luck to the HMS Boys Basketball team as they go up against Hillsboro tomorrow night at 6:30pm at Cheatham Middle School in the 2nd round of the TMSAA Class AA Section 2 Boys Area Tournament.  The team is playing for a chance to advance to the TMSAA State Sectional Tournament, which we will be hosting at HMS throughout next week.  A trip to the first ever TMSAA State Tournament in Murfreesboro is on the line for all teams participating in the State Sectional at HMS.

 

Preliminary Plan for Testing

April 16th:  Academic Pep Rally and final pre-testing school-wide activities

April 17th:  Writing Assessment

April 18th:  Testing           **11:45 dismissal day

April 19th:  No School (Good Friday)

April 22nd-26th:  Testing

April 29th-30th:  Makeup days

 

Looking way ahead

February 28th:  CTE Showcase Day #2 for 8th Grade Students

May 3rd:  County-wide Special Olympics @HMS

May 17th:  End of the Year Award Day for all grade levels

May 22nd:  8th Grade Graduation Ceremony @8:30am

 

 

Other News from Around HMS

From Ms. Hummell:  HMS Cheer would like you to save the date for our Coming Home game and celebrations! We will celebrate Coming Home and 8th grade night for this year’s basketball season Thursday, February 21st. We will announce the Coming Home court and game times later this month.

 

The Channel 2 Educator of the Week will be broadcast on Channel 2 during the 10pm newscast on Thursday, January 31st, and again on Friday, February 1st sometime between 5:55am to 7:00am on their morning newscast. In addition, the same 'spotlight' should be on the Channel 2 website (wkrn.com) by the afternoon of Friday, February 1st. Just go to the website, go to the COMMUNITY page and click on it, then click on Educator of the Week and that will take you to the webpage to see the spotlight. Or you can just click on the Educator of the Week Icon about halfway down the homepage on the right hand side. That will take you to the Educator of the Week page as well.  Congrats again to Melanie Edwards on this amazing accomplishment!  We look forward to your awesome upcoming segment on News 2.

 

From The KODA Club:  Koda Club is sponsoring a Pajama Day on Friday, February 8th. Price is $2.

From the 6th Grade Team:  Don’t forget that the 1st annual Father/Daughter SnowBall dance is this Friday from 6:00-8:30. This night is all about celebration our girls! Girls don’t have to bring their dad...a special Uncle, Grandpa, Older Brother, Aunt, Older Sister, Grandma... any special adult in her life. It’s HER night to be celebrated! Tickets will be sold at the door for $5 per person. Drinks will be sold for $1. Photo booth and desserts are complimentary thanks to our amazing 6th grade parents! Don’t miss this Night to be Remembered!

Tutoring this Week

Margie Crummer (Math):  Math Tutoring on Wednesday from 3-4 this week in Room 5

               Margie.Crummer@ccstn.org

 

Jennifer Roberts (Math):  Tuesday and Thursday from 3-4

               Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

 

Julie Pyrdum (ELA):  Wednesday from 3-4 in Room 2

               Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org

 

Allison Mueller (Science and 7th and 8th Tech Help with Computers):  No tutoring this week
               Allison.Mueller@ccstn.org

 

**Please be sure all students are picked up on time.  Students will not be permitted to attend tutoring any longer if they are not picked up promptly by the times above

 

HMS Contact List     **as of 1-21

Cheatham Achievers:  Rachel.Garrison@ccstn.org

RTI Questions:  Aimee.White@ccstn.org

5th Grade General Questions:  Brittney.Burgess@ccstn.org

6th Grade General Questions: Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

7th Grade General Questions:  Melanie.Buchanan@ccstn.org

8th Grade General Questions:  allison.mueller@ccstn.org

Related Arts General Questions:  Lindsay.Greece@ccstn.org

Math Tutoring Questions:  Margie.Crummer@ccstn.org and Jennifer.Roberts@ccstn.org

ELA Tutoring Questions:  Julie.Pyrdum@ccstn.org

Science and 1/1 Tech Tutoring:  Allison.Mueller@ccstn.org

School Maintenance Concerns:  Adrian.Baker@ccstn.org

Yearbook Questions:  Karley.Miller@ccstn.org or Lisa. Willoughby@ccstn.org

Cafeteria Questions:  Amber.Hrobak@ccstn.org

Athletics Questions:  Devin.Allen@ccstn.org

Counseling and Skyward Questions:  Maria.Bobo@ccstn.org or Brittain.West@ccstn.org

Nurse/Medical Questions:  Casey.Ealy@ccstn.org

Library Questions:  Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org

Questions regarding 1/1 Computers in 7th/8th:  Karen.Carlton@ccstn.org

Attendance Questions:  Kathy.Miller@ccstn.org

Questions About Tiered Attendance Program:  Adrian.Baker@ccstn.org

School Finance/Fundraiser Questions:  Cindy.Wells@ccstn.org

SRO Questions:  Todd.Bell@ccstn.org

Website Questions:  Dave.Parks@ccstn.org

Chorus Questions:  Lindsay.Greece@ccstn.org

Youth In Government/Model UN:  Dale.McCoy@ccstn.org

Questions about Clubs:  Ryan.Philipp@ccstn.org

 

 

Bully Reporting Link for 2018-2019:

http://bit.ly/HMSBullyReport

Please note our new bullying reporting link above.  The previous link is still active as well

Please have your students fill out this form with any bullying concerns whatsoever and Mr. Baker and I will handle the situation.  Even if it is just one instance of bullying-like behavior, we want to know about it as soon as possible.  We also need to be made aware immediately (through further reports) of any repeated behaviors that may occur after a report is filed.

 

Social Media and Contacts:  Don’t forget to follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/HMSIndians and on Twitter @HMSIndians!

 

The CCSD Safety Tip Line can be reached at tip@ccstn.org.

 

The HMS Bullying/Safety Info Line can be reached at 615-829-6072 between 7:15 and 4:00 on school days.  A link to the 2018-2019 student handbook is attached to this email.  Please review this handbook thoroughly with your students and let us know if you have any questions!  If you would like to request a paper copy of the handbook, please just respond back to this email and I will get one sent home for you.

Thanks everyone and have a great week.

Ryan Philipp